Welcome to Fourth Year: Last Year and Plans Ahead

Hello Everyone!

The year, has finally came. It is my last year in naturopathic medical school! Whoo! No More school after this (unless you are completing the acupuncture program or going back for another degree).This is the year to make sure all my requirements to graduate are all set. I will complete my nutrition masters courses this summer, so I am happy about that.  So far, I have finished:

Preceptorship
Community Service Hours
Secondary Competencies
Dispensary,Practice Management, and Hydrotherapy Shifts
Pass NPLEX I

What I have left are:

Thesis
Primary Competencies
Finish remaining courses
Think about Business Name
Make a decision where I want to practice
Set-up Business
NPLEX II
I’ve attended the required summer clinic shifts last year, so I don’t need to do it again. I didn’t want to take summer clinic this year because I had a lot that needed to be done at home. I am glad, because I was able to unwind, get so many things done, and renew my health. My recommendations are, if you have summer clinic or not, to take some time to plan your life.
Plan what you need to do and accomplish if you are going to run a practice, work with someone, practice overseas (chances are I am), or apply for a residency. If you are going to work with someone, practice overseas, or apply for residency, get your papers in order now, so you won’t have to worry about them during your fourth year. Your last year, is going to still be busy (especially with clinic, thesis, boards, preceptorship, etc). Update your resume, contact your supervisors to write you a letter of recommendation, write your personal statements, save up some money, etc. Do what you have to do the summer before in order to make things easy for you. I’ve seen my upperclassmen worry and scramble to get things done at the very last minute. Don’t be like that please, it will cause a lot of anxiety.
Cheers
Krystal

 

 

Leave a Reply

