Homeopathic Remedy Experience: Allium Cepa!

Featured image

This is my first article and experience with homeopathy. Very exciting! I am in a homeopathic clinic shift (watching these remedies in action 😉 ) and taking Homeopathy II. So far, we are learning a couple of first aid remedies. Homeopathy I, was just a crash course on the philosophy and history of Homeopathy. The more I learn about homeopathy, the more I am curious and excited to try it. So, I will tell you a tale, that happened last May. This happened three days before my clinic entry exam. It was the strangest thing, I RARELY catch a cold. But, going through a large amount of stress for this exam, lack of sleep, and not taking care of myself like I usually do, really knocked down my defenses. Anyways, I had a huge headache located on my forehead. I had a lot of discharge (one nostril would become blocked and alternate) and was coughing. I felt awful! I don’t take cough medicine, but I have decided to drink tea, have a bowl of soup, go to bed, and let my body handle itself. The next day, I felt okay, but not myself. This cold just would not break! So, I looked around and saw my first aid homeopathy kit, one of the naturopathic student reps was selling awhile back. At the time, taking Homeopathy I, we learned how to “repertorize” our symptoms. In homeopathy vocabulary, repetorization means to look up the symptoms to the corresponding homeopathic remedies. This helps in the selection of an appropriate remedy based on detailed observations of the patient’s symptoms and medical history. For my case, my symptoms pointed towards “Allium Cepa”, which is red onion. I’ve learned that allium cepa is considered a first aid remedy for colds. I’ve decided to give it a shot. So, I took the pellets as needed and went to bed.

Hours later, my headache got worse, my lymph nodes around my jaw were swollen, and my nasal discharge increased! I haven’t felt this uncomfortable in my life. My symptoms were getting worse. I was experiencing something called ” Homeopathic aggravation”. According to the Organon, a homeopathic aggravation is “The worsening of the symptoms. A very similar medicinal disease (medicinal disease is the homeopathic remedy), that displaces the patient’s original disease. While it appears the symptoms are worsening, it is actually the initial action of the homeopathic medicine whose symptoms are somewhat stronger than those of the natural disease. In other words, the patient with a homeopathic aggravation is experiencing stronger medicinal symptoms, not his original disease”.  Which means, the homeopathic remedy is doing its magic. So, I have to get worse before I get better.  🙂

So, the next day, I felt a million times better! I took the remedy one last time that day and my cold was completely gone. I didn’t have to worry about being sick during the clinic entry exam! That cold just would not leave. I am very glad I have gave homeopathy a shot. Now, I am hooked! I want to try out more remedies. Homeopathy does work! I will keep you posted!

Cheers!

Krystal

Leave a Reply

