Dear Perspective Naturopathic Medical Student: Still Deciding On Whether To Purse A Career In Naturopathic Medicine? Valuable Blog Entry Inside!

I have an awesome article to share. It is called “Destroying Myths About Naturopathic Medicine”. A lot of perspective students, fear whether the hard work and dedication committing four years plus a residency (if you’d like) is worth it. They would read all the negative articles online about how you cannot have a promising career in naturopathic medicine, the myths, and rumors about it. Well, have no fear. Those myths are not true! You sure can have a promising and successful career in naturopathic medicine! I use to worry all the time about whether going to school for naturopathic medicine was a huge mistake. I really wanted to apply, but the fear came it. I stopped worrying and applied. In fact, not having to worry about the possible doom and gloom of my career choice, has helped me to feel better about myself and my life.  The world has yet to end, despite all the negativity that is out there.  Many online stories that proclaim a false view on naturopathic medicine are rarely spot on.  In fact, I have preceptored and talked to many naturopathic doctors and realized that the stuff I read online was highly over-exaggerating.  News media exists to make money, and money is made by enticing viewers and readers to continue to view the negative. You rarely hear anything positive because it is “Boring”. Negativity sells. There are tons of naturopathic doctors enriching the lives of their patients, but the news will not report that. You just don’t hear about the positive in naturopathic medicine. It is out there.

When I visited my optometrist back in 2013 to order more glasses before I start naturopathic medical school.  She asked me, where I was going and pursuing? I said naturopathic medical school in Bridgeport Connecticut. He said, “Do naturopathic doctors make a lot of money? I had a friend who didn’t appear to be satisfied with his career”. First off, that was really unprofessional. I could have retaliated and asked if she made money ( I didn’t see her running her own business). But, I didn’t stoop to her level. I said, “Yes, they do. I have preceptored two who ran very successful businesses” (which is true. These naturopathic doctors had busy clinics, I almost couldn’t preceptor one because he didn’t have the time. But, he made room for me 🙂 ). You see, there are rumors and myths out there that we don’t make money. Don’t let that discourage you. Just because ONE out a zillion naturopathic doctors she knew did not make it, does not mean others didn’t. It’s based upon her own experience. Like I said, do not let that discourage you. Believe it or not, naturopathic doctors are becoming recognized more and more. When I tell strangers I am a naturopathic medical student (in grocery stores), they are like “WOW! Tell me when you open up! I like naturopathic medicine!”. I have met an herbalist who was dying to meet me (You know mothers, they brag about their kids. The herbalist is a huge fan of Dr. D’Adamo!).

So, there you have it. You have a lot of motivation to become a naturopathic doctor. I admit, I was fearful too at first. But, I logged off online, stopped constantly feeding myself negativity, and mustered up the courage to apply to naturopathic medical school. I don’t regret it. I would have regretted not going if I were to listen to people’s negativity. Life is too short for that and I am happy in my career.

The news media is not the only part of the internet that is depressing however.  There are many internet forums full of people who proclaim that everything that one wants to do is a bad idea (like going into naturopathic medical school).  Many people state that there is no sense on trying to achieve something because of how others have failed at it (kinda like how my optometrist was trying to tell me or my professor, who is a naturopathic doctor, said that naturopathic doctors cannot get rich).  However, very few of these sources explain why others have failed.  Many websites proclaim how horrific the economy is, how unemployment is so high, or how the college educated will never find jobs.  While these are serious concerns, reading about them and lamenting about them only leads to depression and apathy.  Do we really need to subject ourselves to that?

So, when you are considering a career in naturopathic medicine, PLEASE DO THIS:

Focus on the positive things that make you feel good about yourself and your life.  Focus on your family, religion, the people you love, helping others, being a good role model, and achieving your goals. Most importantly, focus on being the best future naturopathic doctor you can be!  There is a great amount that a person can accomplish in the time that they spend viewing negative information.  Setting yourself free from such a life is truly a way to make yourself feel better about the world around you.  I highly recommend taking some time and travel somewhere, away from the internet and even away from negative people.  Somewhere where you are free from the distractions and negativity of the world.

There are many places out there for you to enjoy. Spend a couple of nights camping with friends and family, whether it is in a cabin or tent, and turn the cell phones off.  Consider staying at a bed and breakfast without the tv, internet, and cell phone.  Plan a vacation to a quiet place.  Or, consider turning the computers and cell phone off for the day and do to a meditation, reiki, yoga, or acupuncture session.  It is sometimes hard to unplug from the internet, but it is a truly refreshing experience, believe me! Take that time to reflect on who you want to be (a naturopathic doctor) and what you want to spend your time doing (applying, getting accepting, planning the practice you want once graduating, what residency you want to go to, etc).  After a couple of days, see if you feel more refreshed. Think of it as a time to meditate, reflect on your life, and to feel better about yourself:  A chance to detox.  Many people honestly feel that there is no problem with being glued to the internet and the phone twenty four hours a day, but there are some who are starting to wonder if such a life is anywhere near the ideal. So, go out there and detox from the myths and negativity about naturopathic medicine.

The ones who succeed, are those that didn’t let myths stop them. They do not sit around and ponder on the negative, but get up and make the necessary steps to succeed. Faith without works is also dead. You can think positive all you want too. But, if you do not do the work, you will not succeed. I would not have been accepted to naturopathic medical school if I didn’t applied. I could be positive all I want, but if I don’t take the steps in order to be accepted, I would never become a naturopathic medical student. Think postive and apply to naturopathic medical school! You only live once and don’t regret the decision of not applying in the future. You know you want to be a naturopathic doctor, so do it :)! Believe your career as a naturopathic doctor will be successful. You will make the steps to do so and everything you do will work!  What you believe, is what you receive. If you believe in negative and not have a successful career as a naturopathic doctor, you will have that because you will not take the required steps to becoming a successful naturopathic doctor.  You will take the steps not to succeed instead! Your beliefs determine your actions. Go out and succeed now! 🙂

Cheers! ❤

4 thoughts on “Dear Perspective Naturopathic Medical Student: Still Deciding On Whether To Purse A Career In Naturopathic Medicine? Valuable Blog Entry Inside!

  1. Thank you! This was very refreshing to read. I thrive on positivity, so I really appreciate this positive blog is such a negative world. I just applied to ND school, however I am still second guessing myself. I have an interview next week. Any advice? How is school for you thus far? Thank you : )

    • Good Afternoon Kendall!
      You are welcome and I appreciate you reading! I am glad I am able to help.
      Congratulations on your interview! You are on your way to pursing a very promising and fulfilling career in naturopathic medicine! My advice would be, to just be friendly and have fun in the interview. I have listed a few questions I was asked for my interview that could give you an idea: https://holisticgeishashealingsanctuary.wordpress.com/wp-admin/post.php?post=232&action=edit

      I forgot to mention, I was asked if I worked well in groups and how I would go about solving problems in a last minute situation. I’ve also searched for general MD medical school interview questions and replaced ND. I’ve asked one or two questions in the end such as “How would I prepare for the NPLEX? Are there classes offered?”, “How can I become more active in helping other states to become licensed?”. Basic questions like that. I am sure you will do great! 🙂

      School is great! I have my clinic entry exam this week (wish me luck!) and white coat ceremony next month. This summer, I will be taking the NPLEX I and starting clinic shifts! Super excited! I will keep you posted. Stay tuned! I have a lot of great tips too coming!

      Cheers!:)
      Krystal

  2. Hi Krystal! I have been following your blog for awhile and it has been so helpful. I am in the process of applying to several naturopathic programs including University of Bridgeport. I have some questions and was wondering if I could maybe send them your way. Let me know if you have some free time to answer my questions via email. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

