Building Your Naturopathic Medical Library, Now!

Naturopathic Practice BookWhen I was a first-year medical student, the most sound advice given to our clinic entry class was “Even though this is your first semester and you are relaxing during your winter break, plan your future career plans now! Are you going to practice in a clinic? With other naturopathic docs? Are you going to go into residency? What modalities do you want to use? Are you going to work in a licensed, unlicensed, or in another country? Plan now!”. She was absolutely right. Since then, I was planning and building my library. It was the best thing I have ever did and I am still building up my practice and planning for my future as I continue with my studies in medical school.

99.9% of my classes, have lectures on word doc, powerpoint, or pdf. It would be such a waste of money to buy some of these books. However, some of the recommended books for my practice and the clinic books I’ve heard would come in handy, are the ones I have been investing in. So far, I brought a lot of naturopathic clinic diagnosing books (The Clinician’s Handbook of Natural Medicine, Clinical Naturopathic Medicine, and Diagnostic Testing and Functional Medicine), Naturopathic Endocrinology (got a deal for this book, $25. On Amazon, close to $400! A naturopathic student nutraceutical rep at my school, suggest we all pitch in for a group order to get it cheap. So, if you see something like this in your school, UTILIZE THE OPPORTUNITY! These books are costly, but are a good investment for your practice someday), Naturopathic Oncology, Disease treatment and prevention by Life Extensions (this was given to me for free. To this day, I still don’t know how I got it but I am glad I did!), Healing Diabetes: Complementary Naturopathic and Drug Treatments, Japanese Herbal Kampo book, Back to Eden by Jethro Kloss, a Reiki book, and plenty more. More on the way too.

When I was a first-year medical student, I highly regretted spending money on anatomy, physiology, neurology, etc, and all the basic science books. The only one I don’t regret buying is pathology, but the rest, it isn’t anything a good Google search could have solved or I could have borrowed. Plus, these professors took all the testing information out of their power points. All you have to do was come to class, ask questions, and review the slides. Now, I am investing money on books I find to be important for my practice. My recent purchase, “Tips on Creating a Successful Naturopathic Practice” is an excellent read. I highly recommend any naturopathic medical student to start reading this awesome book, if you plan to run a clinic one day. Also, when you graduate, you don’t have to run a business or practice. You can participate in research, go into administration, etc, so many opportunities out there. I use to think we are limited, but we are not.

The resident sent an email around the student body,  setting up a group order, to purchase ” Pocket Reference for Naturopathic Physicians”. This is an awesome read as well! This books was only sold at Southwest College of Naturopathic Medicine. I am excited to read and utilize these books in practice!

Pocket Reference

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

