University of Bridgeport Interview Part II: ACCEPTED!!

On the day of the interview, I packed up my questions, put on my beautiful suit, glossed my makeup on really nice, and straightened my hair. My sister said that she will pray for me and me and my mom hopped into the car off to Bridgeport. This is it! I was extremely excited to go to the interview of the career of my dreams. At this point, doubt started to overcome me a little bit. The phrases “When if I don’t get in?” and “What would I do if I don’t get in?” started to race in my head. Right now, I am a Biochemist in upstate Ny. The job market up there was really dry and the remaining lab tech jobs were so competitive. I always wanted to be a doctor. Before I applied to ND school, I wanted to go into conventional medical school, but possibly go back and do a fellowship in herbal medicine, integrative medicine, nutrition, etc. I was thinking about getting a degree in Chinese medicine or Ayuverda after. The thought pretty much exhaust me, because I wanted to go into conventional but I also wanted to incorporate natural remedies as well. I didn’t really want to keep going back to school and also, I didn’t feel that one form of alternative modality, is fitting for everyone. When if my patients don’t benefit from Ayuverda, but from changing their diet and adding homeopathy? So many things have came into mind when determining what I wanted to do forever. 

Anyways, back to the interview. As we came close to the campus, it was not the most pleasant site. My mom and I were thinking “What have we gotten ourselves into?” So, there was limited parking so my mom dropped me off at the library. I went up to the 6th floor, told the secretary I was there for an interview and she pointed me to sit down on the cozy chairs. Later, two girls and a guy came in for the interview. We all introduced ourselves and talked a little bit about our lives. One of the admissions counselor came in. She was petite, nice, short hair, wearing a red dress, and black stockings. She told us to relax, the interview is pretty laid back, and enjoy some tea and coffee as we wait to be called into the interviewing process. 

We all were called in as a group to go into the conference room. There, I have met the Dean, one ND professor, one science professor, and the admissions counselor. The dean gave us a pep talk about the program, the perks of going to ND school at Bridgeport, the campus, the interviewing process, and ND as a career. I don’t recall all of what everyone said, but it was very exciting and encouraging. So, we had a form in our folders that told us who we will be interviewed by. We had two people to interview us! Very different, but scary. We all had to divide into the people we are to be interviewed by. My first interviewer was a male, probably in his late 40’s early 50’s. He is one of the basic science professors. He will be teaching us embryology, anatomy, and neuroscience, He was very nice and laid…..VERY laid back, Lol! So, my questions that he asked me where:

1. The program is very rigorous. Do you feel that your classes have prepared you for this program?

2. Can you please talk more about your research experience.

3. Why did you choose to pursue a degree in naturopathic medicine as compared to conventional medical school?

4. Can you explain more about your past jobs?

5. Why did you pursue a Biochemistry degree?

6. When did you first hear about naturopathic medicine? Can you tell me about it?

7. What are your strengths and weaknesses when it comes to studying (hate these kind of questions!) and what can you do to improve your weaknesses?

8. What extracurricular activities did you feel prepared you for medical school

9. More and more MD/DO practitioners are getting into the naturopathic realm. Are you ready to fight? 🙂 (He gave a weird smile)

10. Tell me more about yourself

12. Why did you choose Bridgeport as compared to the other schools?

13. Any questions you have for me?

The questions were not that bad at all! Nothing very complicated. I was asked the same questions by the second interviewer. Maybe two or three different which were “Would you be interested in joining clubs and organizations?” “Do you plan to participate in research when you graduate?” and that was it. 

After everyone was done with their interviews, we took a tour around campus. Not bad at all, you can say I had a blast at the interview. After the interview, I  stayed the night at my sisters then went home the next day. I received a call two days later from the admissions counselor that I was accepted. Whoooo!!! Class of 2017!! 😀

Cheers~

4 thoughts on “University of Bridgeport Interview Part II: ACCEPTED!!

  1. This is so helpful! I have an interview next week at Bastyr in SD, CA. Thank you so much. I have never interviewed for graduate school before–plenty of jobs, but never school. I really appreciate you creating this blog!

  2. I loved reading through your blog post before going to my interview! Having an idea of the questions they ask really does help… Thank you!
    In which case, I posted about the questions BINM in Canada asked me. Maybe it’ll be of help to someone else too 🙂

Leave a Reply

