Would you go to a self-taught doctor?

url

My friend sent me a link to this opinion piece: Who is qualified to give nutrition advice? last week. I found myself growing increasingly frustrated as I was reading. One of the biggest frustrations I find working in the field of nutrition is that everyone’s an expert. I get it, we all eat, and many non-nutrition professionals pay attention to what they’re putting in their bodies. Nutrition information is everywhere and it’s not hard to seek out general, and even specific, nutrition facts. However, there are a couple of problems when it comes to receiving nutrition advice.

I don’t mean advice like your aunt telling you how to tweak your lasagna recipe or your friend telling you ways to get your kids to eat their veggies. We all give each other friendly advice like this, regardless of our educational backgrounds. It’s a whole other kettle of fish when you’re…

View original post 512 more words

Leave a Reply

