What’s Ahead!

Hello!

It has been awhile since I’ve written a post on here. The summer is coming to an end and I am actually making so many plans for my future. Especially, making sure I have a competitive application for residency and to do very well on the NPLEX  exams. This summer, I studied a little for the NPLEX, relaxed, and observed two doctors. I am going to deactivate FB this year because I have a very hectic schedule. I am in the acupuncture program now and will be in clinic this year. I want to do awesome, stay focused, and learn as much as I can in order to have a successful practice in the future. Any conferences and continued educational classes that are being offered, I am there! 🙂

On the topic of preceptorship for required clinic hours. All naturopathic medical students have to do this. I wanted to start collecting hours this summer, since I am not doing too much. The disappointing part is that, I have called so many naturopathic doctors in my area,  and only ONE agreed for me to observe them.  Another doctor agreed too, but he moved to Vermont so he is out. Darn! I wish my hometown was in a licensed state. I live in NY (unlicensed), so maybe that is why.  There is a naturopathic doctor who used to work at the hospital years ago. He owns his own business now so I gave him a call. Hopefully, he will make some time for me to observe him. He is out of town so I will know soon. I also contacted two MDs who specialize in integrative medicine. One, agreed right off the bat and the other wanted me to meet her at a place as if it is a job interview. I declined to meet because I don’t have time to do all that. I don’t know why she wanted to meet, but the summer is almost over and I don’t want to waste time. It is very difficult asking doctors to observe them. I know they are very busy and it is the summer time so they are most likely on vacation. I have three years, I have enough time. Plus, there are NDs in Conneticut I can observe. I have winter and spring break to occupy too.

Anyways, I wanted to come back up here and practice, but I am slowly moving away from staying in the northeast. I have gained an interest in the Pacific Northeast! I am thinking about checking out Washington, Oregon, and British Columbia before I apply to residency in these spots. However, my heart is tugging towards Washington, I even had dreams about this place. I have joined the Naturopathic Association there and the physicians are super nice, plus it was free! I am very excited to see the other part of the United States. I have never touched the west, but I am loving the fact that I am no longer scared and limiting myself anymore. I have looked into residency spots and jobs and noticed the western states have way more opportunities than the northeast at this time. I have visited the Cancer Centers Treatment of America in June, for the First Annual Naturopathic Oncology Conference. It was super informative and exciting! I wanted to apply to residency there, but I am not longer interested.  Like I said, I am getting very bored with staying in the northeast area.  After school, I am exploring. Life is too short and I want to travel to other states that I am interested in. Those states are far away too.

Leave a Reply

